I adopted a Tillandsia

Succulents are all the rage right now, especially in rubber dinosaur holders. In case you don’t know what I’m talking about, here’s a picture of what I’m referring to: cacti and other low-maintenance plants that people have been “adopting” and using as decor.

6a011572536cb8970b017ee996a7e6970d-500wi

Generally, these neat little nods to nature are found in small local shops or Urban Outfitters, the crazy mogul who pretends to be a small-business hipster boutique. Knowing me, I am always seeking out what’s new, and once these succulents became too mainstream for me, I knew I couldn’t rock one in my cube anymore. Behold, I encounter a lady selling the next big thing at a booth at the Made Here market today: tillandsias!

Tillandsia is a genus referring to air plants – meaning they don’t have roots – native to the Americas. Not having roots is the main thing here; that means you can pick up your tillandsia plant and hold it in your hand or even arrange it with a group of rocks and not need soil! How does it gather nutrients? Through the air, with its nifty structures called trichomes (which also give the plant a nice silvery finish). Cutest thing? New, baby tillandsias are called “pups”! Currently, the Wikipedia page doesn’t have a section about them being used as house plants yet so I feel pretty hipster, no lie.

Here’s my new tillandsia!

IMG_20150726_182708

One thought on “I adopted a Tillandsia

  1. tinawerro says:

    Ahhh you hipster!!! 😄 Your little new pet looks so cute & I love the modern glass house it resides in 😉 but most important: DOES IT HAVE A NAME YET?

    Like

Leave a Reply

